Easy Homemade Spicy Mustard!

Thassa spicy mustard!

That’s right. You can make mustard at home and it’s super simple. Fix it and forget it. And I’m NOT talkin’ the mix-some-mustard-powder-with-water-and-call-it-a-day mustard. Nu-uh. I’m talkin’ about BAD-ASS mustard! Mustard seeds have bite to them when cut, which gives this a natural intensity. Don’t worry- you can handle it!

I’m posting today, so you can make it for the weekend (it takes 2 days to make). I know picnic weather has left a lot of us, but you Southern Hemispherians and some others can enjoy it outside. Why don’t the rest of us have an indoors picnic? (That sounds like a lot of fun actually…)

 

Spicy Wholegrain Mustard

  • ¼ C + 2 T yellow mustard seeds
  • 2 T black mustard seeds*
  • ¾ C apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 C water
  • 1½ t sugar
  • ½ t turmeric
  • Clean, glass jar & lid that can hold 2 cups of liquid.  Make sure this is sterilized by putting in the dishwasher OR pouring boiling water in and around it. Let dry before continuing.
*Apparently black mustard seeds are becoming rare. Feel free to use brown mustard seeds, or all yellow, as long as it totals 1/2 cup.  You should be able to find mustard seeds with the spices or Indian foods section.

How-to

  • This makes about 2 cups finished mustard. You can pour it into separate jars when made, but to start you need one big jar!
  • Place mustard seeds in jar. Pour the apple cider vinegar and water on top of the seeds.
  • Put lid on and shake it up! You want to make sure the seeds are covered with the mix, so give it a shake every now and then.
  • Soak for 2 days and the seeds will swell with happiness!
  • After 2 days, place seeds and liquid in a food processor and add the sugar and turmeric.
  • Blend until desired smoothness. I kept this pretty chunky, just enough to break open all the seeds.
  • Place into desired jar(s), replace lid, and set in fridge. Keep refrigerated.  THAT’S IT! YOU’RE DONE!
-It will be pretty spicy after this, and you can let it mellow in the fridge for a day or two. But even after a few weeks it still has bite!
-This is just the base recipe. Feel free to add in other spices, make it with white wine or beer. Add more black mustard seeds and less yellow to make it even spicier. Oh, imagine a nice, roasted jalapeño puréed in there too! Drool.
-It’s great on sandwiches, crackers, not dogs, you name it! Makes a great gift. Bring it out when guests are over because they will be super impressed!
Mustard in the park

Because it does make so much mustard, I brought some to a picnic to share with friends. We ate it with sesame crackers and fresh seitan slices; others slathered it on some bread rolls. It was a big hit! And everyone thought I was so damn cool for making it; little did they know. Now all lazy bones can be awesome!

Published by theveganronin

Chef Owner

19 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Spicy Mustard!

  1. Coooooooool! I seriously have a huge bag of mustard seeds at home and am always looking for more things to do with them. What a great idea to, you know, actually make mustard with them! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  2. You have totally demystified the Art of Mustard Making for me. Win! The only thing standing between me and my jars of mustard seeds was the fear of completely screwing the whole thing up.
    Thanks for giving me the confidence to no longer be held hostage by prepared mustard! This is going to be a fun recipe to play with, thank you, thank you, **thank you**. Really.

      1. Scarfing down the finished product as I type. I’m a weenie ~ the first time I make a completely new recipe I try to obey the master as much as possible. So, the only change I made was substituting fresh grated turmeric for dried (1 small knobette) and added a pinch of salt.
        People, this is divine! If you haven’t made this recipe yet, do yourself a favor and get to it! Seriously. I’m that awed to make something so yum-licious so simply. I am no longer a slave to Eden and their damn tasty mustard. Mine is better, nya!

        Vegan Ronin Sensei, you are amazing m(_ _)m ~ arigatou gozaimashita!

  3. Hey – I tried making mustard a couple of years ago – for some reason it failed. However, I seem to recall that you can’t use pure yellow mustard seeds – becasue the result will be too bitter? Have you tried this? Am I mistaken!?

  4. What a fantastic idea! Have never thought to make my own mustard before, will definitely give this a try. Thanks for the recipe. 😀

  5. … Hi vegan ronin … you will not believe this … i made your mustard recipe … & of course it was a roaring success … so good that i made a jar full … & in His Grace it will cross continents tomorrow … all the way to my beloved son in law … Blessed … healthy … organic … clean … delicious … home made mustard … & my gratitude is to you … love & peace to you … God Bless you girl …

  6. Wow don’t use only black mustard seeds! They way too hot!! I’ll try add some cashew cream and honey to damper the blow. Otherwise worked well 🙂

  7. I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve got hi quality content.
    If you want to know how to make extra bucks, search for:
    best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

Leave a comment